City Council

Photo of City Council during a meeting.

The Corporation of the City of Sault Ste. Marie operates as a single tier municipality not forming part of a regional or county system of government. Sault Ste. Marie, with a population of 75,000, is located in the District of Algoma, Province of Ontario. 
The City is governed by a Mayor (elected at large) and 10 Councillors; two from each of the five wards in the municipality. Council is elected for a four-year term. 
The administrative organizational structure is the Council/Chief Administrative Officer system. Policy is implemented by nine departments through the CAO. The City does not operate on a standing committee system. 
City Council meets approximately every three weeks on Mondays with the exception of July and August when only one meeting is held each month. Meetings are open to the public and are televised on Shaw Spotlight and through YouTube and

More information

Contact Us





Civic Centre - Level 4