Jump to Main Content
 
 
 
 

Ermatinger Clergue National Historic Site

Old Stone House and Clergue Blockhouse

Notice: We are open Tuesday to Saturday from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. at 50% visitor capacity.



The Ermatinger Clergue National Historic Site offers a year-round cultural attraction for residents and visitors to Sault Ste. Marie. The Site consists of an interactive Heritage Discovery Centre and two of the oldest stone buildings, located northwest of Toronto - the Ermatinger Old Stone House and the Clergue Blockhouse.

With its many exhibits and interactive features, the Heritage Discovery Centre promises to make history an engaging experience - remember to visit the The Post Gift shop for unique gift ideas.

The Ermatinger Old Stone House is restored to depict the domestic and professional life of Charles Oakes Ermatinger and other prominent residents and visitors of the House between 1808 and 1870.

The Clergue Blockhouse, was relocated to the Site in 1996, and served as the home of industrialist Francis Hector Clergue from 1894 - 1908.

The Ermatinger Clergue National Historic Site is situated close to neighbouring attractions including the Canadian Bushplane Heritage Centre, the Sault Ste. Marie Museum and the Art Gallery of Algoma.

We wish to acknowledge that we are in Robinson-Huron Treaty territory and that the land on which we are gathered is the traditional territory of the Anishnaabe, specifically the Garden River and Batchewana First Nations, as well as the M├ętis People.


Kathryn Fisher
Curator

Contact Us

Phone
705-759-5443

Email
old.stone.house@cityssm.on.ca

Fax
705-541-7023

Location
800 Bay Street
Sault Ste. Marie, ON
P6A 5X6

Facebook